### Badger Conference Realignment

### September 30, 2019

On behalf of the Badger Conference principals and athletic directors, we are pleased to share with you our conference realignment plan. There has been much discussion over the past four years and even mentioned by the WIAA at an area meeting regarding realigning our conference. Once Watertown and Beaver Dam were moved into the Badger Conference, the principals voted to re-visit the alignment after 2 years.

In the Fall of 2018, the Badger Conference principals directed the athletic directors to review the alignment, taking into account geographic locations (distance each school travels), school size, and competitive balance. In the Spring of 2019, the athletic directors brought forth the East/West Division format for consideration and was approved by the principals at the April meeting.

The new alignment was selected based on the following conclusions, when comparing the new alignment to the current alignment:

- 1) The East/West alignment creates a more equitable distribution of total miles traveled throughout the conference. Reduced travel on school nights was a priority to minimize time lost from class to maximize study time for student athletes.
- 2) The divisional component creates more "close" contests, also decreasing travel and minimizing time missed from class.
- 3) The East/West Divisions better aligns schools according to enrollment with the East containing 7 of the 8 "large" schools and the West containing 7 of the 8 "small" schools. Oregon and Fort Atkinson are the exceptions.

Over the course of the 2019-2020 school year, the athletic directors will create the specific scheduling concepts to utilize the four school divisional format, aligning it to the specific scheduling details for each sport. The realignment will take effect in the Fall of 2021. The divisions are listed below with each schools 2018 enrollment as pulled from the WIAA website the date of this release.

## **Badger West North Division**

Baraboo – 939 Portage – 765 Reedsburg – 881 Sauk Prairie – 834

#### **South Division**

Edgewood – 497 Monroe – 723 Mount Horeb – 776 Oregon – 1149

# **Badger East North Division**

Beaver Dam – 1067 DeForest – 1017 Watertown – 1302 Waunakee – 1303

#### **South Division**

Fort Atkinson – 957 Milton – 1126 Monona Grove – 1076 Stoughton – 968

As a conference, we feel this will improve the high school athletic experience for our student athletes and their families. We are excited to develop creative schedules utilizing the innovative divisional format. If you have any questions regarding our realignment or the process in which we arrived at the solution, please contact us, or any Badger Conference athletic director.

Brian Hammil, AD Milton High School President for Badger Conference Athletic Directors, 2019-20

Jeremy Bilhorn, Principal Milton High School President for Badger Conference Principals, 2019-20